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On March 9, 2020, the Governor declared a state of emergency for Rhode Island because
of the COVID-19 pandemic. In times of emergency, Rhode Island law authorizes the Governor
to issue orders, proclamations, and through the state agencies adopt regulations to manage the
State’s response to the emergency. Rhode Island law also authorizes the Governor and the
Director of the Department of Health (“RIDOH”) to issue orders quarantining individuals,
portions of the state, or the entire state to preserve public health and address the spread of a
communicable disease like COVID-19.

I expect that the vast majority of Rhode Islanders will voluntarily comply with these
orders and regulations. However, if necessary, state and local police are empowered to enforce
the Governor’s emergency Executive Orders and RIDOH orders and regulations requiring social
distancing, quarantine and isolation.

We should always attempt to educate individuals and businesses about the importance of
complying with these important public health measures and attempt to secure voluntary
cooperation. This memorandum is intended to provide guidance in those limited instances
where attempts at voluntary compliance fail and civil or criminal enforcement action is
necessary. There are three principle enforcement mechanisms available to you: 1) civil citation
and fine, through RIDOH; 2) criminal summons; and 3) arrest. All three enforcement-
mechanisms are described in detail in Section III below.

I. Summary of Executive Orders Issued to Date

The Governor’s Executive Orders issued to date involve the social distancing, quarantine
and isolation of individuals, public gatherings, and regulating or suspending operations of
businesses and other organizations. For convenience, they are summarized here.



A. Executive Orders pertaining to Social Distancing, Quarantine and
Isolation of Individuals

e Executive Order 20-03, issued on March 13, 2020 and effective, by extension,
through June 5, 2020, ordered that:

O

Any person arriving in Rhode Island from locations outside of the 50
states or the District of Columbia must self-quarantine for 14 days upon
arrival and that anyone who has traveled outside of the 50 states or the
District of Columbia must self-quarantine for the remainder of the 14-
day period since his or her arrival in Rhode Island.

e [Executive Order 20-32, issued on May 8, 2020 and effective through May 23,

2020, ordered that:

O

Any person coming to Rhode Island from another state for a non-work-
related purpose must immediately self-quarantine for 14 days.

» This quarantine restriction shall not apply to public health, public
safety, or health care workers.

= This quarantine restriction shall also not apply to anyone
traveling for medical treatment; to attend funeral or memorial
services; to obtain necessities such as groceries, gas or
medication; to dropping off or picking up children from day care;
or to anyone who must work on their boats.

Any person who lives in Rhode Island and works in another state shall
self-quarantine when not at work. This quarantine restriction shall not
apply to public health, public safety, or health care workers.

All social gatherings of more than five (5) people in any public or private
space such as an auditorium, stadium, arena, large conference room,
meeting hall, library, theater, place of worship, parade, fair, festival,
park or beach, are prohibited.

e Executive Order 20-20, issued on April 9, 2020 and effective, by extension,

through June 5, 2020 ordered that:

O

Any person who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health
care practitioner or by laboratory testing must immediately self-isolate
until they have had no fever for at least 72 hours, have experienced a
resolution of their respiratory symptoms, and at least 7 days have
passed since their symptoms first appeared.

Any person who has been in known close contact (within 6 feet) of a
person who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health care
practitioner or by laboratory testing and has been contacted by the
Rhode Island Department of Health to inform them that they were a
close contact of a confirmed positive case must immediately self-
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quarantine for 14 days following that contact. (This quarantine
restriction shall not apply to public health, public safety, social service
providers, and healthcare workers provided they follow RIDOH
guidance.)

e [Executive Order 20-30, issued on May 5, 2020 and effective through June 4,
2020, ordered that:

o Any person in a place open to the public, whether indoors or outdoors,

shall cover their mouth and nose with a mask or cloth face covering

unless doing so would damage the person’s health. However, masks are
not required for:

» Persons under two years of age;

» Persons who are developmentally unable to comply, including young
children who may not be able to effectively wear a mask;

»  Persons whose health would be damaged by wearing a mask; or

»  Persons who can easily, continuously, and measurably maintain at
least six (6) feet of distance from other people.

All persons are required to wear masks or cloth face coverings at all
times when inside grocery stores, pharmacies, or retail stores; and also
at all times when providing or using the services of any taxi, car, livery,
ride-sharing, or similar service or any means of mass public transit, or
while within an enclosed or semi-enclosed transit stop or waiting area.
However, masks are not required for:

»  Persons whose health would be damaged by wearing a mask; or

»  Persons who can easily, continuously, and measurably maintain at
least six (6) feet of distance from other people.

B. Executive Orders Governing Business and Organization Operations,
Including Social Distancing and Closures

e Executive Order 20-32, issued on May 8, 2020 and effective through May 23,

2020, ordered that:

O

All recreation and entertainment establishments cease in-person
operations. Recreation and entertainment establishments include, but
are not limited to, theaters, cinemas, sporting events, bowling alleys,
concert venues, museums, and z00s.

All close-contact businesses (businesses which cannot maintain social
distancing with their customers) including, but not limited to,
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O

gymnasiums, fitness centers and similar exercise facilities, hair salons
and barbershops, nail salons, spas and tattoo parlors cease in-person
operations.

All non-critical retail businesses with a physical location in Rhode Island
are permitted to open for in-store pickup and limited browsing only.

»  Such non-critical retail businesses may allow up to one customer per
300 square feet of store area open to customers generally.

» Non-critical retail businesses will be required to operate in
accordance with the social distancing protocols, guidance and
regulations set forth by RIDOH, Executive Orders 20-24 and 20-30,
and any other law applicable to non-critical retail businesses.

Restaurants are not permitted to provide on-premises consumption and
may operate only for pickup, drive-through, and delivery.

*  However, effective May 18, 2020 restaurants are permitted to
provide on-premises consumption in outdoor spaces, pursuant to
RIDOH regulation and guidance.

RIDOH has promulgated regulations pursuant to Executive Order 20-
32, which may be found here and are appended to this guidance.

II. Definitions: Social Distancing, Quarantine and Isolation

There are important distinctions between social distancing, quarantine and isolation
relevant to civil and criminal enforcement of these various Orders.

Social Distancing is deliberately increasing the physical space between people to
avoid spreading illness. Requiring people to keep at least six (6) feet apart from each
other or limiting gatherings to groups of five (5) people or less, are examples of social

distancing.

Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people who have been exposed
to COVID-19 or who are at risk of contracting COVID-19. Quarantine typically takes
place at a person’s home and lasts for 14 days. Quarantine may also be ordered to
take place at another location designated by the Governor or the Director of RIDOH.
Persons who are quarantined may not leave their home except to obtain medical
treatment and may not have visitors.

O

For more information see: https://health.ri.gov/publications/factsheets/COVID-
19-IsolationVsQuarantine.pdf, and

https://health.ri.gov/publications/factsheets/COVID19-At-Home-

Quarantine.pdf (These are also attached to this Memorandum.)
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¢ Isolation means keeping people who have a contagious disease separate from those
who do not.

o Isolation can take place at a home or at a hospital or healthcare facility or another
location designated by the Director of RIDOH.

o A person must go into isolation if: (1) they tested positive for COVID-19 (even if
they are asymptomatic) or (2) they have been clinically diagnosed for COVID-19
by a licensed health care practitioner (even if they don’t yet have a confirmatory
test result).

o Persons in isolation should separate from others at home, may not leave their
home except to obtain medical treatment, and may not have visitors.

III. Enforcement

The purpose of the Governor’s Executive Orders and the RIDOH Orders (discussed
below) requiring social distancing, quarantine, and isolation is to protect public health and
prevent the further spread of COVID-19. The goal is voluntary compliance, and a warning in
most instances will result in compliance. In some cases, however, a civil citation or a criminal
summons or arrest may be necessary to effect compliance. The choice of enforcement is within
your discretion and judgment and will turn on the particular facts and circumstances of each
case. This Office is always available to inform that judgment if requested.

Civil citations may be issued to individuals, businesses and other organizations violating
the Orders discussed here pursuant to RIDOH regulations (the regulations are also attached to
this Memorandum). Primary responsibility for issuing civil citations, particularly in the context
of businesses and organizations, will fall on inspectors working with the Department of Business
Regulation (“DBR”) and RIDOH, or inspectors working at the direction of the enforcement task
force, created by the Governor pursuant to EO 20-32. However, if you believe that an
individual, business, or other organization is in violation, you may initiate the civil citation
process by completing an incident/offense report and emailing it to RIDOH at
doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov. The incident/offense report should contain the date, time and
place of violation; offender information (name, dob, address, phone number); nature of
violation; officer’s name and badge number; and certification as to the veracity of the
information. The report should be signed and certified as true by the officer reporting the
violation. RIDOH will mail the violator a citation and adjudicate the citation if it is contested.
Fines range from $100 for a first violation to $500 for a third violation, though RIDOH will
determine the amount of the fine.

You may also choose criminal enforcement, as violations of the Orders discussed in this
memorandum are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of up to $500 and up to 9o days in
prison, or both, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws. § 30-15-21. If you choose criminal enforcement,
either issuance of a summons or arrest may be appropriate, depending on the circumstances.
Since arrest should be reserved for multiple instances of non-compliance by those posing the
greatest public health threat (i.e., persons ordered into isolation or contact quarantine, as
described below), I ask that you consult with this Office prior to arresting any person for
violation of any of the Executive Orders or RIDOH Orders, if possible.
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Set forth below is more detailed guidance pertaining to civil and criminal enforcement,
organized by the types of situations likely to be confronted by law enforcement.

A. Social Gatherings: EO-20-32

e If you encounter more than five (5) individuals congregating in public, and
attempts at voluntary compliance are unsuccessful, you should determine
whether there is a local ordinance or emergency order that would permit
issuance of a citation.

¢ You could also initiate the civil citation process described above by preparing
an incident/offense report and submitting that report to RIDOH at
doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov.

e Absent unusual circumstances, such as egregious or repeated violations, it is
not recommended that you issue a criminal summons or arrest for violation
of the public gathering order, even though a misdemeanor charge may be
brought pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 30-15-21. However, should you decide
to invoke criminal process, and an arrest rather than a summons is
contemplated, I ask that you first consult with this Office, if possible.

B. Cloth Face Coverings in Public: EO 20-30

e Ifyou encounter individuals who are not wearing cloth face coverings in
public, as required by EO 20-30, you should attempt to educate them as to
the requirements and obtain voluntary compliance.

¢ You could also initiate the civil citation process described above by preparing
an incident/offense report and submitting that report to RIDOH at
doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov.

e Absent very unusual circumstances, it is not recommended that you issue a
criminal summons or arrest for violation of the face mask order, even though
a misdemeanor charge may be brought pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 30-15-21.
However, should you decide to invoke criminal process, I ask that you first
consult with this Office, if possible.

C. Travel Quarantine: EO 20-03, EO 20-32

e The travel quarantine requirement applies to any person (Rhode Islander and
non-Rhode Islander alike) who returns to Rhode Island from outside the state
for purposes other than for employment, for medical treatment; to attend
funeral or memorial services; to obtain necessities such as groceries, gas or
medication; for dropping off or picking up children from day care; or for
anyone who must work on their boats.
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e These persons are required to quarantine for 14 days. Health care and public
health and safety workers are excluded. The mere fact that a person is
operating a vehicle with an out of state license plate does not indicate that
they are in violation of this Order.

¢ Ifyou encounter a person who has violated one of the travel quarantine
orders, and attempts at obtaining voluntary compliance are unsuccessful, you
could initiate the civil citation process described above by preparing an
incident/offense report and submitting that report to RIDOH at
doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov.

e Absent unusual circumstances, such as egregious or repeated violations, it is
not recommended that you issue a criminal summons or arrest for violation
of these Orders, even though a misdemeanor charge may be brought pursuant
to R.I. Gen. Laws § 30-15-21. However, should you decide to invoke criminal
process, and an arrest rather than a summons is contemplated, I ask that you
first consult with this Office, if possible.

D. Businesses: EO 20-32

e If a business or organization is violating any of the Executive Orders or
RIDOH regulations, you should first determine whether any municipal
ordinance, rule, or emergency order has been violated.

¢ Additionally, you should alert the Department of Business Regulation
(“DBR”) at (401) 889-5550 or at https://dbr.ri.gov/critical/ so that it can
determine whether to take administrative enforcement action, including
imposition of administrative penalties.

¢ You could also initiate the civil citation process described above by preparing
an incident/offense report and submitting that report to RIDOH at
doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov.

For a list of critical and non-critical businesses, see
https://dbr.ri.gov/documents/DBRCriticalRetailBusinessesList

04032020.pdf.

¢ In the event of egregious or repeated violations, the owner or operator of the
business may be charged with a misdemeanor pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §
30-15-21. If an arrest rather than a summons is contemplated, I ask that you
first consult with this Office, if possible.

E. Mandatory Isolation or Contact Quarantine Due to COVID-19
Diagnosis or Exposure: EO 20-20

EO 20-20 orders individuals who have been clinically diagnosed with COVID-19 (by a
licensed health care practitioner or by a laboratory test) to go into isolation. It also orders
individuals who have been informed by RIDOH that they have been exposed to a person
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diagnosed with COVID-19 based on their contact with that person into quarantine (“contact
quarantine”). Accordingly, a person who violates EO 20-20 poses a significant risk to public
health.

I anticipate that most Rhode Islanders will voluntarily comply if RIDOH orders them
into isolation or contact quarantine. The State has systems in place to provide support to
individuals under quarantine and isolation, including medical services, food delivery and
housing assistance where necessary. RIDOH has established a hotline to assist individuals
required to be in isolation or quarantine: (401) 462-4444.

Nevertheless, there may be instances where civil or criminal enforcement is necessary.
While law enforcement will generally be able to identify and address violations of the social
distancing, business operations, and travel quarantine Executive Orders on its own,
enforcement of EO 20-20 concerning isolation and contact quarantine will depend on
information sharing by RIDOH. Law enforcement is not expected to proactively enforce EO 20-
20. Infact, it is anticipated that enforcement will generally occur as a result of a request for
assistance by RIDOH to address a person who has failed to comply.

In an instance where in the absence of such a request by RIDOH you happen to
encounter a person who you believe to be in violation of EO 20-20, you must contact RIDOH for
confirmation that the person has been ordered into isolation or contact quarantine before
proceeding with enforcement. You should ask for, and RIDOH should provide, written
confirmation that that is the case. If RIDOH does not provide such confirmation, you should
not proceed with enforcement.

RIDOH has established the following dedicated telephone number for law enforcement
inquiries, to ensure that information is available to you 24/7, in real time: (401) 712-3716. You
may also email inquiries to doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov .

Additional enforcement guidance is set forth below.

1. Isolation Order Enforcement

¢ Asnoted, you may only enforce the isolation provision of EO 20-20 if RIDOH
confirms the person has in fact been ordered by RIDOH into isolation. This
confirmation will be in the form of an Individual Compliance Order (“ICO”)
issued by the Director of RIDOH.

e If RIDOH provides the required confirmation, you may initiate the civil
citation process described above by preparing an incident/offense report and
submitting that report to RIDOH at doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov.

e In appropriate circumstances, you may also issue a criminal summons or
make an arrest on a misdemeanor charge pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 23-8-
7 and 30-15-21. Prior to making an arrest, I ask that you first consult with this
Office, if possible.

e Ifyou arrest a person for violating an isolation order, that person may be
brought to the central booking facility at the lower level of the Attorney
General’s Office Customer Service Center, 4 Howard Ave., Cranston, for
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booking and arraignment. The facility is staffed by the Department of Public
Safety (“DPS”). Arraignments are conducted by Justices of the Peace and/or
via video conference with the District Court. Whether the person is released
on personal recognizance, or bail is set, you should ask for a condition that
requires the person to isolate at the location indicated by the RIDOH ICO or
at a location ordered by the court for the remainder of his/her isolation
period.

If after arraignment the person must be transported to the ACI, before
transport, please contact ACI intake at 401-462-3805 or -3807.

2. Contact Quarantine Order Enforcement

You may only enforce the contact quarantine provision of EO 20-20 if RIDOH
confirms that the person has been advised by RIDOH that they have been in
contact with a COVID-19 positive person and directed by RIDOH to self-
quarantine. RIDOH must have a record of this communication in order to
support a charge.

If RIDOH provides the required confirmation, you may initiate the civil
citation process described above by preparing an incident/offense report and
submitting that report to RIDOH at doh.prcompliance@health.ri.gov.

In appropriate circumstances, you may also issue a criminal summons or
make an arrest on a misdemeanor charge pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 30-
15-21. Prior to making an arrest, I ask that you first consult with this Office.

If you arrest a person for violating a contact quarantine order, that person
may be brought to the central booking facility at the lower level of the
Attorney General’s Office Customer Service Center, 4 Howard Ave., Cranston,
for booking and arraignment. The facility is staffed by the Department of
Public Safety (“DPS”). Arraignments are conducted by Justices of the Peace
and/or via video conference with the District Court. Whether the person is
released on personal recognizance, or bail is set, please ask for a condition
that requires the person to self-quarantine at the location indicated by the
RIDOH ICO or at a location ordered by the court for the remainder of his/her
14-day quarantine period.

If after arraignment the person must be transported to the ACI, before
transport, please contact ACI intake at 401-462-3805 or -3807.

I recognize that these are complex and unusual law enforcement issues. I appreciate and
value your partnership and am prepared to provide any help and additional guidance you may
need going forward. Case specific questions can be directed to Stephen Dambruch, Criminal
Chief, at (401) 274-4400, extension 2503, cell phone at (401) 413-4578, or by email at
sdambruch@riag.ri.gov, or to Adi Goldstein, Deputy Attorney General, at (401) 274-4400,

extension 2502, or by email at agoldstein@riag.ri.gov. Of course, you are always welcome to
contact me directly, either here at the Office, at extension 2338, by email at
pfneronha@riag.ri.gov, or on my cell phone.
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Applicable Laws

Rhode Island Emergency Management Act § 30-15

§ 30-15-21. Penalties

Any person violating any provisions of this chapter or any rule, order, or regulation promulgated
pursuant to this chapter shall upon conviction thereof be punishable by a fine not exceeding five
hundred dollars ($500), or imprisonment not exceeding ninety (90) days, or both.

Quarantine Generally § 23-8

§ 23-8-4. Quarantine.

If the state director of health, or his or her duly authorized agent, determines, upon
investigation, that a threat to the public health exists because any person is suffering, or appears
to be suffering, from a communicable disease, the director or his or her authorized agent may
require or provide that person to be confined, in some proper place, for the purpose of isolation
or quarantine, or another less restrictive intervention treatment, including, but not limited to,
immunization, treatment, exclusion or other protective actions until the threat to the public
health has abated. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent a person who is unable
or unwilling for reasons of health, religion, or conscience to undergo immunization or treatment
from choosing to submit to quarantine or isolation as an alternative to immunization or
treatment. Orders under this chapter shall be in accordance with the procedures for compliance
order and immediate compliance orders set forth in §§ 23-1-20 — 23-1-24. A person subject to
quarantine under this section shall be entitled to file a petition for relief from such order at any
time, included, but not limited to, a petition based upon compliance with a treatment under less
restrictive alternatives.

History of Section.
(G.L. 1896, ch. 94, § 15; G.L. 1909, ch. 110, § 15; G.L. 1923, ch. 154, § 15; G.L. 1938, ch. 256, § 15;
G.L. 1956, § 23-8-4; P.L. 1967, ch. 60, § 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 185, § 2; P.L. 2003, ch. 189, § 2.)

§ 23-8-4.1. Power to examine suspected cases — Right of individual to own
physician.

For the purpose of carrying out the provisions of this chapter, the state department of health is
empowered to make examinations of persons reasonably suspected of having a communicable
disease; provided, however, that any person so examined shall have the right to have present at
that examination, a physician of his or her own choice, at his or her own expense. The state
department of health shall inform him or her of this right and afford him or her a reasonable
opportunity to exercise that right; and at the trial of any person being prosecuted under the
provisions of § 23-1-25, the prosecution must demonstrate that he or she was so informed and
was afforded that opportunity.

History of Section.
(P.L. 2003, ch. 185, § 3; P.L. 2003, ch. 189, § 3.)
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§ 23-8-7. Violation of quarantine

Any person who is confined by the director or his or her authorized agent under the provision of
§ 23-8-4 and who violates that confinement shall be punished by a fine of not more than fifty
dollars ($50.00) or by imprisonment for not more than ninety (90) days, or both.

§ 23-1-21. Immediate compliance order.

Whenever the director determines that there exists a violation of any law, rule, or regulation
within the jurisdiction of the director which requires immediate action to protect the health,
welfare, or safety of the public or any member of the public, the director may, without prior
notice of violation or hearing, issue an immediate compliance order stating the existence of the
violation and the action he or she deems necessary. The compliance order shall become effective
immediately upon service or within the time specified by the director in the order. No request
for a hearing on an immediate compliance order may be made.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1966, ch. 109, § 1.)

§ 23-1-23. Enforcement of compliance orders.

Whenever a compliance order has become effective, whether automatically where no hearing
has been requested, where an immediate compliance order has been issued, or upon decision
following a hearing, the director may institute injunction proceedings in the superior court of
the state for enforcement of the compliance order and for appropriate temporary relief, and in
the proceeding the correctness of a compliance order shall be presumed and the person
attacking the order shall bear the burden of proving error in the compliance order, except that
the director shall bear the burden of proving in the proceeding the correctness of an immediate
compliance order. The remedy provided for in this section shall be cumulative and not exclusive
and shall be in addition to remedies relating to the removal or abatement of nuisances or any
other remedies provided by law.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1966, ch. 109, § 1.)

§ 23-1-25. Penalties.

Unless another penalty is provided by the laws of this state, any person who violates any law
administered by the director or any rule or regulation adopted pursuant to authority granted to
the director shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars
($100) or by imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, or both, and for violation of a
compliance order of the director by a fine of not more than three hundred dollars ($300) or by
imprisonment for not more than ninety (90) days, or both, for each offense or violation, and
each day's failure to comply with any such law, rule, regulation, or order shall constitute a
separate offense.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1966, ch. 109, § 1.)
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§ 23-1-29. Delegation.

(a) The director may from time to time designate in writing any person in any department of the
state government or any official of a district, county, city, town, or other governmental unit, with
that official's consent, to enforce any rule and regulation promulgated and adopted by the
director under the provisions of this chapter.
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What is the difference between
Isolation and quarantine?

Q

Isolation and quarantine help protect the public by preventing
exposure to people who have or may have a contagious disease.

e Isolation separates sick people with a contagious disease
from people who are not sick.

e Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people
Who were exposed to a contaglious disease to see If they
become sick.

ISOLATION QUARANTINE
Isolation is for people who are Quarantine is for people who
already sick. are not sick, but may have

been exposed.

78 |solation separates and restricts the gimy Quarantined people may or may not
B Mmovement of sick people so they can't 2ge3| Pecome sick.
spread disease to healthy people.

N Quarantined people should stay at home

*a Isolation is a routine procedure In 8|r anOthterkl\OCEIa’Eki\On SO tklwey don't spread
rﬁ hospitals and healthcare facilities. S€as€ LO nealthy people.

S . +  |f you are quarantined and you become
Isolation is usually voluntary, but officials &~ . -
Y Y == 1ll, you can seek medical treatment from

have the authority to isolate people who a healthcare provider.
are sick If necessary.

Quarantine can be voluntary, but |
officials have the authority to guarantine

people who have been exposed to an
INnfectious disease If nhecessary.

For more information: health.ri.gov/covid




Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19):
10 Tips for At-Home Quarantine or Self-Monitoring

If you have been directed to quarantine or self-monitor
at home because of possible COVID-19 contact:

Stay home from work, school, and
away from public places. If you Take everyday actions to prevent the
spread of germs.

need help getting food or
- Clean your hands often with soap and water for at

medicine call 2-1-1 or The POINT at
462-4444, Visit RIDelivers.com, Rhode least 20 seconds or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer
that contains at least 60% alcohol

Islanders' connection to help those
living in quarantine and isolation due - Cover your cough/sneeze

to COVID-19. - Avoid touching your eyes, nose,
and mouth

# Monitor for symptoms
and take your temperature

twice daily. If you develop symptoms or a
fever, then call your healthcare provider

immediately. and away from other people

and pets in your home. Use a

separate bathroom, if available.

Get rest, stay hydrated, and exercise
if possible. If you are able to
exercise, do so in your home

or yard. Avoid locations where you
may come into contact with others.

[ 9
Avoid sharing personal items
with other people in your house-

hold, like dishes, towels, and bedding.

# As much as possible,
stay in a specific room

FTTTTITI T
# i you have a medical Clean all surfaces that are
appom'tment, call thg touched often, like counters,
healthcare provider ahead of time and L tabletops, and doorknobs.
tell them that you have been exposed to Use household cleaning sprays or wipes
COVID-19. according to the label instructions.

dispatch personnel that you have at home by teleworking if

been exposed to COVID-19. you're able or catching up on reading,
exercising, or other hobbies.

ﬁ For medical emergencies, \
call 911 and notify the 9 1 1 Make the best of your time

By executive order of Rhode Island Gov. Gina Raimondo, anyone entering Rhode Island (with the exception of public
safety, health care professionals, and pilots/flight crew) must immediately self-quarantine for 14 days. Rhode Island
residents who work in another state must work from home, if possible. Rhode Island businesses with employees who
are residents of another state must make every attempt to let those employees work from home. People traveling to
other states are subject to the laws of those jurisdictions.

CORONAVIRUS
DISEASE For more information, contact the Rhode Island Department of Health at 401-222-8022, email

RIDOH.COVID19Questions@health.ri.gov, or visit health.ri.gov/covid.




| 216-RICR-50-15-7

{ TITLE 216 — DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

’ CHAPTER 50 — ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

' SUBCHAPTER 15 - HEALTHY ENVIRONMENT

| PART 7— Safe Activities By Covered Entities During the COVID-19 Emergency

7.1 Authority

A. These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the authority conferred under R.1.
Gen. Laws 8§ 23-1-1, 23-1-17, and 42-35-2.10 and to Executive Order 20-32, for

the purpose of establishing certain criteria for safe activity by and at covered

entities in Rhode Island during the COVID-19 state of emergency in the interest
of the public health.

B. These requlations are intended to supplement and not replace COVID-19 related
requlations promulgated by other State agencies and departments.

7.2 Definitions

A. Wherever used in this Part, the terms listed below shall be construed in the
following manner:

; N "Act" means R.l. Gen. Laws § 23-1.

2 “Business” means a person, firm, corporation, partnership, association,
receiver or trustee in bankruptcy, having one or more individuals, including

oneself, in service.

3. “CDC” means the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

4. “Civil penalty” or “penalty” or “fine” means a means a monetary sum

assessed by the Director in response to a violation of, or a failure to
comply with, these reqgulations.

5. “Cloth face covering” means a protective article that covers the wearer’s
mouth and nose.

6. “Covered entity” means any person, business. state agency. political

subdivision of the State, non-profit organization, school, religious
institution, public or private park or beach, or campground.




"COVID-19" means the disease caused by the novel coronavirus SARS-

CoV-2.

"COVID-19 symptoms” means the occurrence of any of the symptoms of

COVID-19, as set forth in CDC guidance, when they develop over a period

of hours to days and cannot be explained by allergies or other non-
infectious disease. Such symptoms include, among others, sweating,
chills, repeated shaking with chills, muscle pain, body aches or other
symptoms consistent with fever, temperature measured above 100.4°F,
cough, congestion, sore throat, shortness of breath, headache, or new
loss of taste or smell.

"Department" means the Rhode Island Department of Health.

10.

"Director" means the Director of the Rhode Island Department of Health or

11.

his or her agents or subordinates to whom the Director has delegated the
powers and duties vested in the Director by these requlations.

“Establishment” means a physical location operated in whole or part by

12,

any Covered Entity or any place of public gathering. For purposes of this
definition, a residential dwelling, or any portion of an establishment used
exclusively as a residential dwelling (such as an apartiment in an
apartment building), is not deemed an establishment.

“Health care facilities” means any person or entity that provides in-person

13.

health care services or whose establishment is the location for in-person
health-care services.

“Hot spot” means a location identified by the Department where there is

14.

(a) a sianificantly elevated number of COVID-19 suspect or positive cases

or (b) a significant number or severe violations of these requlations.

"Social distancing" means the practice of keeping space between oneself

and others when outside of the home in order to restrict the spread of
infectious disease. The practice of social distancing, also known as

physical distancing, involves:

a. staying at least six (6) feet (two (2) meters) from people outside the

same household unless separated by a physical barrier that
prevents individuals from having direct contact and contact with any
droplets from another individual’s coughing, sneezing or talking:

b. not gathering in groups;

E. staying out of crowded places; and




d. avoiding mass gatherings.

Universal Practices

All individuals in public or in an establishment shall be required to maintain social

distancing at all times, to the extent feasible.

| When social distancing is not feasible, individuals should minimize the
time of exposure to the extent possible.

All individuals in public or in an establishment shall wear a cloth face covering

unless social distancing can be maintained easily and continuously.

Emplovers must arrange for cloth face coverings or materials for the making of

such face coverings for each employee at no expense to the employee. Nothing
shall prevent an employee from fashioning his or her own cloth face covering or
voluntarily providing and wearing other equivalent or more protective face
coverings (such as N95 respirators and surgical masks). This subsection will
remain in effect unless and until the Occupational Safety and Healih
Administration (OSHA) requlates the use of cloth face coverings.

Exceptions

1. Cloth face coverinags are not required for individuals who are required by
their emplovers or by state or federal law to wear other more protective
respiratory protection (such as N95 respirators and surgical masks).

2. Cloth face coverings are not required for:

a. Anvone for whom use of such face covering would damage his or
her physical or mental health; or

b. Anvone who is developmentally unable to use a cloth face
covering. including young children who may not be able to
effectively wear a cloth face covering: or

C. When a face covering would directly inhibit an activity of daily living_

(e.q. eating); or

d. When a face covering would itself neqgatively impact the safety of
an individual or lead to an increased risk of harm to others (e.qg.
near open flames); or

e. In outdoor settings when people can easily and continuously
maintain at least six (6) feet of distance from other people.




Rules for Establishments

For the duration of the state of emergency caused by COVID-19. covered entities

that have establishments that they wish to open and/or remain open, must take

the following steps to limit the spread of COVID-19:

1

Every covered entity (other than an individual who is not acting as a sole

proprietorship) shall develop and maintain a written plan for the safe

operation of its establishment(s) with regard to COVID-19 during the state

of emergency and make this plan available to the Department upon

request. This plan must include procedures that meet. at a minimum, the

requirements of these requlations and applicable guidance issued by the

Department. The plan must address the following elements:

a. Social distancing. including additional measures to be taken in
high-traffic, communal, or other areas where social distancing is not
feasible:

b. wearing of cloth face coverings;

& procedures for cleaning and decontamination of surfaces;

d. procedures for minimizing access to the establishment by COVID-
19 positive or symptomatic individuals:

e. procedures for responding to a positive case or outbreak; and

coordinating with the Department regarding any potential hot spot

investiaation. including the designation of a point of contact who will
work with the Department on testing, contact tracing, case
investigation, isolation and quarantine follow up.

Each covered entity (other than an individual who is not acting as a sole

proprietorship) shall implement and ensure compliance with screening of

all individuals entering its establishment(s) at any time for any reason.

a.

Such screening shall include, at a minimum:

(1) visual assessment, self-screening, or a written

questionnaire, or a combination of any of these screening
methods regarding COVID-19 symptoms and contact in the
last fourteen (14) days with other individuals who are
COVID-19 positive or who have COVID-19 symptoms: and




(2) at all entrances to an establishment. notice that all
individuals entering _must be screened or self-screened, and
to not enter if they are COVID-19 positive, have COVID-19
symptoms, or have had close contact in the last fourteen
(14) days with an individual who at the time had COVID-19.
Samples of screening criteria for entrants can be found here:

Health.ri.gov/forms/screening/COVID-19

and here in Spanish:
Health.ri.gov/forms/screening/COVID-19/Spanish

b. If an individual is identified as having COVID-19 symptoms, the
covered entity shall deny access to that individual unless (i) the
establishment is a health care facility with other access
requirements or limitations or (ii) the individual is a resident in a
multi-unit residential establishment.

|

Each covered entity shall instruct any person entering an establishment to

wear cloth face coverings except when social distancing from others in the
establishment is easily, continuously, and measurably maintained or §
7.3(D)(2) of this Part applies. Without limitation of the foregoing,
individuals must wear a cloth face covering when at an entrance, exit and
common areas of any establishment including, but not limited to: check-in,
reqistration, reception, waiting areas, hallways, corridors, bathrooms,
elevators, and stairways.

a. If any employee refuses to wear a cloth face covering when
required by these requlations and such individual is not otherwise
exempt from the requirements pursuant to § 7.3(D)(2) of this Part, a
covered entity shall deny access to the establishment. Nothing in
this Part shall require a store or other business to refuse entry to a
customer not wearing a face covering.

All covered entities shall ensure the placement of posters or signs at entry

to its establishments educating any individual at the establishment
concerning entry screening. required social distancing, use of cloth face
coverings, and other subjects as provided in guidance issued by the
Department. Copies of acceptable posters can be found here:
https://health.ri.qgov/

All covered entities shall ensure that their establishments have their

restrooms open. and that they have running water and are stocked with
hand soap. If access to restrooms or running water is limited, the
establishment shall ensure ready access to hand sanitizer at all times.




6. All covered entities shall ensure the performance of environmental
cleaning of their establishments once per day. In addition, commonly
touched surfaces, such as shared workstations, elevator buttons, door
handles and railings should be cleaned in accordance with CDC guidance

for specific industries, found here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/community/reopen-guidance.html. Covered entities shall use, and
have readily available to service providers, cleaning/disinfecting products
designed to clean/disinfect the surfaces they are cleaning/disinfecting and

shall use the products in the manner intended.

7 All covered entities shall maintain records documenting the date, time,
location and procedures for the cleaning activities required in § 7.4(A)(6)
of this Part.

8. In the event the Department identifies a hot spot, the affected covered

entity shall cooperate fully with the Department to restrict the further
spread of COVID-19 within an affected establishment and/or the
community at large, which cooperation shall, at minimum, include
providing access to all the covered entity’s records required by these

regulations.

9. Each covered entity will cooperate with the Department on testing, contact
tracina. case investigation, isolation and quarantine follow-up matters
relating to the covered entity’s establishment.

10.  All covered entities must also comply with all applicable federal, state and
local laws and requlations governing safety and health in their
establishments.

| B. Exceptions

1. Sections 7.4(A)(2). (3). (5) and (8) of this Part do not apply to any outdoor
facility. unless that facility has staff at all points of entry.

2 Sections 7.4(A)(2) and (5) of this Part do not apply to public bus
transportation.

Closure of Establishments

If the Director determines that there exists a hot spot which requires immediate

action to protect the health, welfare, or safety of the public or any member of the
public. the Director may issue an immediate compliance order, as provided for in
R.l. Gen. Laws 8§ 23-1-21. effecting the closure of the establishment until such
time as the violation has been remedied, to the satisfaction of the Director. Such
remedy shall be in addition to any other penalty that may be prescribed by law.




| 7.6 _Enforcement

| A, Inspections

1. The Department and its authorized representatives may enter and inspect

any establishment’s premises in a reasonable manner, including, without
limitation. all equipment, materials, containers, records, processes and
controls. in order to ascertain compliance with these regulations and the
Act.

2. The Department may coordinate with law enforcement and/or other state
or federal agencies to conduct inspections hereunder.

| B Penalties

1. The Department may take any combination of the following actions
aqgainst an establishment for violation of these regulations and/or the Act:

| a. Issue a compliance order;

b. If immediate action to protect the health, welfare, or safety of the
public or any member of the public is required, issue an immediate
compliance order pursuant to § 7.5(A) of this Part;

| & Levy a civil penalty in accordance with § 7.6(C) of this Part: and/or

d. Take any other action authorized by these requlations, the Act or
other applicable law.

| C.___ Civil Penalties

it The Department adopts the following schedule of civil penalties with
respect to violations of these requlations.

Violation Civil Penalty per Violation. Each day’s failure to comply will
constitute a separate offense.

A. The civil penalty for a first violation shall be not more than one hundred

Any violation | dollars ($100).

B. The civil penalty for a second violation shall be not more than two hundred

fifty dollars ($250).
C. The civil penalty for a third or subsequent violation shall be not more than
five hundred dollars ($500).

A. The civil penalty for a first violation shall be not more than two hundred

Any violation | dollars ($200).

B. The civil penalty for a second violation shall be not more than five hundred




dollars ($500).
ofa C. The civil penalty for a third or subsequent violation shall be not more than
compliance one thousand ($1.000).
order

All hearings and reviews required under the provisions of R.l. Gen. Laws § 23-1

shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Act and the rules and
requlations regarding Practices and Procedures Before the Department of Health
(Part 10-05-4 of this Title) and Access to Public Records (Part 10-05-1 of this

Title).

Administrative action including civil penalties imposed by the Department on

account of violations hereunder are in addition to any criminal penalties provided
for under applicable law.

Severability

If any provision of these requlations, or the application thereof to any person or

circumstance, is held to be invalid. such invalidity shall not affect other provisions
or application of the requlations which can be given effect without the invalid
provision or application, and to this end the provisions are declared to be
severable.
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‘ TITLE 216 — DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

‘ CHAPTER 10 — PUBLIC HEALTH ADMINISTRATION

’ SUBCHAPTER 05 — PRACTICES AND PROCEDURES

| PART 5 — Enforcement of Certain COVID-19-Related Executive Orders

5.1 Authority

A. These requlations are promulgated pursuant to the authority conferred under R.1.
Gen. Laws Chapters 30-15, 23-1, and 23-8, and pursuant to Executive Order 20-
20. and are established for the purpose of restricting the spread of COVID-19
and assuring the public health, safety, and welfare by promoting compliance and
deterring noncompliance with the Executive Orders.

5.2 Definitions

A. Wherever used in this Part, the terms listed below shall be construed in the

following manner:

1k “Civil penalty” or “penalty” or “fine” means a monetary sum assessed by
the Director pursuant to these requlations in response to a violation of, or
a failure to comply with the Executive Orders.

2. “Citation” means the formal notice issued to a violator setting forth, among
other things, the civil penalty assessed and the basis therefor.

3. “Clinically diagnosed” means the condition of being diagnosed with
COVID-19 by a licensed health-care practitioner by assessment of
symptoms or by laboratory testing.

4. "COVID-19" means the new disease caused by novel coronavirus SARS-
CoV-2.

5. “Department” or “RIDOH” means the Rhode Island Department of Health.

6. “Director” means the Director of the Rhode Island Department of Health or

his/her subordinates to whom the Director has delegated the powers and
duties vested in the Director by these requlations. The terms Department
and Director may be used interchangeably unless clearly indicated
otherwise by the context of the sentence in which it appears.




«Executive Orders” means Executive Orders 20-03 (Quarantine

Restrictions on International Travelers), 20-10 (Quarantine Restrictions on
Domestic Air Travelers), 20-14 (Staying at Home, Reducing Gatherings,
Certain Retail Business Closures, and Further Quarantine Provisions),
and 20-20 (Further Quarantine Order).

“|solation” means the separation of anyone clinically diagnosed with

COVID-19 from people who are not sick.

“Person” means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock company. corporation

10.

(including quasigovernmental corporation). partnership. association,
syndicate, municipality, municipal or state agency, fire district, club, non-
profit agency or any subdivision, commission, department, bureau,
agency. department or political subdivision of State or Federal
Government (including quasigovernmental corporation) or of any interstate
body and any agent or employee thereof.

“Quarantine” means the separation and restriction of movement of anyone

11.

who has been exposed to COVID-19 to see if he or she becomes sick.

“Social Distancing” means the practice of keeping space between oneself

12,

and others when outside of the home in order to restrict the spread of
infectious disease. The practice of social distancing, also known as
physical distancing, involves: staying at least 6 feet (2 meters) from other
people: not gathering in groups: and staying out of crowded places and
avoiding mass gatherings.

“\/iolation” means any act or failure to act which constitutes or results from

failure to comply with the Executive Orders.

5.3 Assessment of Civil Penalty

5.3.1 Citation

A. The assessment of a civil penalty in accordance with these requlations shall be in
addition to any other penalty that may be prescribed by law.

B. The Director. or his or her duly authorized agent. or any local or state of Rhode

Island police department, or their officers or agents, may issue a citation, on a

form supplied or approved by the Department, for any violation of the Executive

Orders. which citation shall include the following information:

A concise statement of the alleged act or failure to act (e.g.. manner of
violation of quarantine, isolation. social distancing. etc.):




C.

10.

Reference to the specific Executive Order(s) violated as a result of the act
or failure to act;

The amount of the civil penalty:

A statement of the violator’s right to an administrative hearing on the
citation pursuant to R.l. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-35.

A statement advisina the violator that he or she has ten (10) days from the
date of the citation to request an administrative hearing and that the
request must be made in writing. which includes electronic written format,
such as email.

The address(es). e.d., mail or email. to which a request for an
administrative hearing must be sent.

A statement advising the violator that if he or she fails to request a
hearing. in writing, within ten (10) days of the date of the citation, the
violator will be deemed to have waived his or her right to an administrative

hearing.

A statement advising the violator that payment of the penalty constitutes
waiver of the right to request a hearing.

A statement advising the violator that if he or she fails to either pay the
penalty or request a hearing within ten (10) days of the citation, the
Director may institute enforcement proceedings in Rhode Island Superior
Court.

The means by which payment may be made if the violator elects to pay
the penalty and waive the administrative hearing.

The issuance of a citation shall be by service upon the violator, either by

service. in hand, or by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, or by

express or overnight carrier with a signed receipt of delivery.

5.3.2 Hearing and Burden of Proof

A.

Any violator has the right to request a hearing on the citation pursuant to R.L.

Gen. Laws § 42-35-1 et seq. The right to request a hearing may be waived,

however. The request for a hearing must be made in writing within ten (10)

days after the date of the citation. Failure to do so shall constitute waiver of the




right to request a hearing. Payment of the penalty shall also constitute waiver of
the right to request a hearing.

In the event a violator waives his or her right to request a hearing, the proposed

civil penalty shall be final immediately upon the waiver, which adverse order
shall be memorialized in writing in accordance with and conforming to all
requirements of R.l. Gen. Laws § 42-35-12.

If a timely request for a hearing is filed, a hearing shall be conducted in

accordance with R.l. Gen. Laws § 42-35-9 and Part 4 of this Subchapter,
Practices and Procedures Before the Rhode Island Department of Health (216-
RICR-10-05-4).

At hearing. the Director must prove the alleged violation by a preponderance of

the evidence. Once a violation is established, the violator bears the burden of
proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the Director failed to assess
the penalty in accordance with these regulations.

If. after hearing, a civil penalty is assessed, such penalty shall be final, and

constitute a final decision of the Director, upon the expiration of thirty (30) days if
no action for judicial review of the decision is commenced pursuant to R.I. Gen.
Laws § 42-35-15.

Judicial review of any final decision shall be available in accordance with R.1.

Gen. Laws § 42-35-15.

5.33 Penalty Ceiling and Enforcement

A. The civil penalty for a first violation shall be not more than one-hundred dollars
($100).

B The civil penalty for a second violation shall be not more than two-hundred-fifty
dollars ($250).

C. The civil penalty for a third or subsequent violation shall be not more than five-
hundred dollars ($500).

D. Each and every occurrence and/or day during which the violation is repeated
shall constitute a separate and distinct violation.

E In the event a violator fails to pay a civil penalty within ten (10) days of its being

final. the Director may institute injunction proceedings in the superior court of the




state for enforcement of the civil penalty, which remedy shall be cumulative and
not exclusive. and shall be in addition to any other remedies available at law.

Pursuant to Executive Order 20-20, the Director is authorized to take any action
and make and enforce any requlations necessary to implement the Executive

Order. The Director has the authority to enforce the Executive Orders through
immediate compliance orders issued in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-1-

5.4 Immediate Compliance Orders
2%
5.5 Severability

If any provisions of this Part, or the application thereof, to any person or entity or

circumstance is adiudged invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, such

iudament shall not affect or impair the validity of the other provisions of this Part.

or the application thereof, to other persons, entities, or circumstances.
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