### SECURITY GUARD LICENSE PACKET

POLICY
\*

**LAWS** 

\*

**APPLICATION** 



PETER F. NERONHA
ATTORNEY GENERAL

#### PLEASE READ PRIOR TO FILLING OUT THE APPLICATION

Prior to the submission of your application, please make sure that all the required documents have been completed in their entirety. Incomplete applications **CANNOT BE PROCESSED**. Missing information notices will not be sent out.

**An approved license** is valid for 2 years, a renewal notice <u>WILL NOT</u> be sent. Be sure you're applying at a minimum of 30 days prior to the business license expiration date.

A physical Rhode Island address, properly zoned for business, <u>OR</u> registered agent is <u>REQUIRED</u>. We cannot accept a P.O. box as an address for your place of business. The RI address provided would be where your license will be mailed. An additional copy may be mailed outside the State of RI for a duplicate License fee of \$100.00.

Whether this is your first time applying for your license or you are **renewing** your current license, this application is used for both.

#### **Rhode Island General Laws pertinent to the application process:**

Under Rhode Island General Law Section 5-5.1-3 (2) entitled "Powers and Duties of the Attorney General", it instructs the Office of the Attorney General to:

"Investigate the qualifications of each applicant before any license is issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and to **obtain a criminal background check** on any applicants from the division of criminal identification within the department of the attorney general" also,

Under Rhode Island General Law Section 5-5.1-8 entitled "License Qualifications" it states that: "Every applicant, or in the case of a partnership each partner, or in case of a corporation, each officer and general, and each shareholder owning ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the applicant; provided, that applicant is not a publicly traded corporation, shall meet the following qualification before it may engage in any business licensed under this chapter" also,

RIGL 5-5.1-8(3) specifically states that applicants can: *not have been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony.* 

In abiding by the above-mentioned laws, a National Criminal Background Check (fingerprinting) must be completed for all security personnel. However, owners, partners, corporate officers, directors, and shareholders who own 10% or more are required to submit a national background check request with new and renewing business license applications.

If you have any questions regarding the application process, please E-mail BCIFingerprints@riag.ri.gov

If you have any questions regarding the application process, please E-mail <a href="mailto:Securitylicensing@riag.ri.gov">Securitylicensing@riag.ri.gov</a>

#### RI SECURITY BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Applications can be dropped off or mailed to: RI Office of Attorney General 4 Howard Ave. Cranston RI 02920

ATTN: Security guard licensing

- 1. Application completed in full and notarized. Missing information notices will NOT be sent out.
- 2. Application fee in the amount of \$400.00 in the form of a Check or Money Order, made **payable to BCI**. Check or Money Order must be included in your application, as this is the payment for the license.
- 3. A copy of your certificate of insurance in the minimum amount of three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) for bodily or personal injury and one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) for property damage.
  - A licensee must be insured by a carrier licensed in this state.
- 4. Certificate of Authority or Letter of good standing from Rhode Island:
  - a. **Corporate / Partnerships** are required to submit a certificate of authority.
  - b. **Individual** or if this is an LLC, you're required to submit a letter of good standing.

**BOTH** of which can be obtained from the Secretary of States' Office.

5. Owners, partnerships, directors, corporate officers, and any shareholder that owns 10% or more of the business must undergo a National Background. The national background check by mail requirements must be included with the application.

National background checks will require you to submit the following. Included with the application please submit the following:

- A notarized photocopy of two forms of photo identification ANY State-issued license, state identification card, passport, etc.
- FD-258 fingerprint card signed and completed in full with name and demographic information entered by a law enforcement agency
- Check or money order in the amount of \$45.00, payable to BCI.

**In-Person national background checks** may be processed at our 4 Howard Ave. Cranston, RI 02920 location Monday-Friday 8:30 am- 4:00 pm. With a government issued photo I.D. and a Credit/Debit card. In-person processing will still require a fingerprint card to be submitted with the application.

Each individual owner, partner, director, corporate officer, and any shareholder that owns 10% or more of the business must complete **page 12 and page 13** of the application. Please be sure each partner has completed their own page.

6. Staff, uniform, and equipment - All badges, shields, and any other devices shall not indicate or tend to indicate that they represent that of any law enforcement officer of the federal government, a state, or any other political subdivision of the state. This entire wording must be approved by the attorney general.

# APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AND REGISTRATION AS A SECURITY GUARD BUSINESS





#### APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AND REGISTRATION

#### AS A PRIVATE/CORPORATE/PARTNERSHIP SECURITY GUARD BUSINESS

Biennial Fee: \$400.00 (Check or Money Order) made payable to BCI.

D	Pate:
NAME OF BUSINESS:	
For renewals, please reference the name of the business on your curr	rent license.
BUSINESS ADDRESS:	
P.O. Boxes are not acceptable. For out-of-state licensee: As this is a license, the certificate, upon approval, will be mailed out to the RI acregistered agent within RI. An additional copy may be mailed out to the headquarters, upon request. This additional copy is an additional \$10.	ldress provided or to the an out-of-state
TELEPHONE NUMBER: BUSINESS E-MAIL:	
Name of registered agent:	Phone #:
Mailing address:	E-Mail:
Is this a new application? If this is a renewal, please provide the business license number:	YES OR NO
Is the business duly qualified to do business in the State of Rhode Isla	and? YES OR NO
Do you have a valid certificate of such authority issued by the Secret If so, include a copy of this in your application. If not, please qualify attach a copy.	•
Does the business adhere to the insurance requirements under section If so, include a copy of your surety bond and proof of insurance.	§ 5-5.1-22? YES OR NO
Does the business have a Rhode Island address?	YES OR NO
If no, registered agent for the service of process?	YES OR NO
This must not be a P.O. Box. All out-of-state businesses must obtain of	one or the other.
Does this business have or intend to have and provide armed security	? YES OR NO
If so, have you reviewed RI General laws within chapter 11-47?	YES OR NO

Please list every individual owner, shareholder (that owns at least 10% or more), partner, and/or corporate officer and director.

Name, DOB, and Telephone number:	Title: (check one)
----------------------------------	--------------------

A.	
	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director
В	
D	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director
С.	
	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director
D	Ourse Charabaldes C Parters C Conserve Office C Picertes C
	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director
E	
	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director
F.	Ourse Charabalder C Barbara C Correcte Officer C Bireston C
	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director
G.	
	Owner Shareholder Partner Corporate Officer Director

#### SECURITY GUARD LICENSING ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

- I. I acknowledge that I have read and understood Rhode Island General Laws § 5-5.1-1 through § 5-5.1-24.
- II. I acknowledge that I have read and under Rhode Island General Laws § 11-47-1 through § 11-47-62, should I provide armed security services.
- III. I acknowledge I am required to keep the Office of the Attorney General advised of **ANY change in** ownership of the business including any individual owners, corporate officers, and shareholders that own 10% or more of the company. As well as submitting the required documentation and fee.
- IV. I acknowledge that any tampering or duplication of the license is not allowed and shall be subject to penalty and/or denial or revocation of license.
- V. I acknowledge to keep the Office of Attorney General advised of **ANY change** in the company's name and/or address (please also include change of insurance information) within **10 (ten) business days** of the change. This information will result in a \$100 fee for license updates to be mailed out to the company.
- VI. I acknowledge that the license, which will be issued to the security business, **EXPIRES AFTER 2 YEARS** at which time the business will have to send in a renewal application within 30 days of my license expiration date.
- VII. I acknowledge continuing business operations after the license expiration date, is a felony offense under RI general law § 5-5.1-7.
- VIII. I acknowledge that all employees working under the license must undergo a National background check, at the Office of the Attorney General. Prior to the start of their employment per Federal Regulation 105.23.
  - IX. I acknowledge the licensed company cannot knowingly employ a person who has been convicted of a felony under Rhode Island Statute § 5-5.1-18 (b).

If for any reason, the above terms are not adhered to, it may result in the immediate suspension and/or revocation of your privilege to conduct a security guard business in the State of Rhode Island.

Licensee Signature:		Date:	
NOTA	ARIZATION REQ	UIRED	
Sworn to before me in the city of day of	, 20	State of	this
Notary Public Signature		Notary Stam	p Required



# STATE OF RHODE ISLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

4 Howard Avenue • Cranston, RI 02920 (401) 274-4400 • www.riag.ri.gov

Peter F. Neronha Attorney General

Dear Licensee,

The purpose of this notice is to assure that your Security Guard Company is complying with both State and Federal laws. Rhode Island Statute § 5-5.1-18 (b) states that your company cannot "knowingly employ any person who has been convicted of a felony." In addition, Federal Statute § 108-458 states that all employees working under your license must be fingerprinted prior to the start of their employment.

To have your employees fingerprinted, we need a representative from your company to register your company in our fingerprint database. The following information will be needed:

Company Name:
Address:
Preferred Contact Information:
Contact Person Email:
Phone Number:
Once your company is licensed and registered, your employees would then need to come into our office to complete their State BCI and National Fingerprint check. They must bring a conditional offer of employment on the company's letterhead, see page 11 or contact our office at SecurityLicensing@riag.ri.gov. This letter should be completed by the business prior to sending staff in for their background check. Failure to do so will be documented within the business license file.
Upon completion of the background check, your employee will leave with their RI State BCI. The results of their fingerprint background check will be forwarded to your company via the email provided above.
Respectfully,
Edward Troiano, Chief

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation

Office of Attorney General

4 Howard Avenue

#### (Company letterhead)

( Contact name )	License number
To Whom It May Concern,	
Please be advised that the individual listed below has been extended a conditional offe with the Security Business licensed under <i>(Business Name) (License#)</i> Pursuant to R.I 5-5.1-18 as well as federal regulation 105.23.	
<b>§</b> 5-5.1-18	
<b>(b)</b> No holder of any unexpired license issued pursuant to this chapter shall knowingly experson who has been convicted of a felony in connection with his or her or its business	
(d) All holders of a license shall be allowed to obtain a criminal background check on an prospective employee from the division of criminal identification.	ly employee or
The potential employee understands that they shall bring this letter, photo identification debit card for the amount of forty-five dollars (\$45.00) fees apply, for the <b>national back</b>	
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need additional infor	mation.
( Business contact information here )	
Thank you,	
( Contact name )	
This Section must be completed by the employer prior to the potential employee's be Attorney General's Office. Failure to do so will be documented within the busin	
Name:DOB:	
Address:	
Results will be forwarded to the email address on file with the RI Attorney Gener	al's office.
R.I. Attorney General's Office	
4 Howard Ave.	
Cranston, RI 02920	

9

Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 4:00 pm ( No appointments )

Visit <u>www.riag.ri.gov</u> for more information.

Closed on state holidays.

## New and Renewal business applications must include a list of the following information for all current employees.

Last, First name	DOB	Position	Start date	Will they be carrying a weapon for your business Y/N	If yes, Issuing agency	If yes, Expiration date:	If yes, is there a work purpose only restriction?

## MUST BE COMPLETED BY EACH INDIVIDUAL OWNER, SHAREHOLDER THAT OWNS AT LEAST 10% OR MORE), CORPORATE OFFICER, AND/OR PARTNER

Name:		DOB:		Title:			
Address:							
Email:			Phone number:				
Are you a	Citizen of the United States?				YES	OR	NO
If naturaliz	ed, when and where? State:	Cit	<u>y:</u>	<u>(</u>	Court:		
If you are r	not a U.S. Citizen, are you a resi	dent alie	en?		YES	OR	NO
•	ever been convicted in any jurisc ide complete details as well as s		•	any	YES	OR	NO
or registrat	ever had a private security guard ion revoked or denied by any ju- ide details as well as supporting	risdictio	n?	ense,	YES	OR	NO
habitual dr	w suffer, or have you ever suffer unkenness or narcotics addiction ide details as well as supporting	or depe	endence?		YES	OR	NO
•	ever been under guardianship, co ide details as well as supporting					OR	NO
•	ever been arrested or charged for a ide details as well as supporting	-			YES	OR	NO
-	ver been cited or summoned for any ide details as well as supporting				YES	OR	NO
Attorney Gen manner of ac any release o	orize the Bureau of Criminal Identifica eral to conduct the national and/or sa tions, cause of actions, and demands of f information pursuant to this request, Department of Attorney General and Signa	te backgro f every ki against ti	ound check. I hereby nd, nature, and descr he State of Rhode Isla	waive an ription wh and, the A	d release any hatsoever, aris Attorney Gene	and	ll om e
	NOTARIZ	ZATION	REQUIRED				
Sworn to b	efore me in the city of day of	_, 20	State of				this
Not	ary Public Signature			Notary S	tamp Requir		



## STATE OF RHODE ISLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

4 Howard Avenue • Cranston, RI 02920 (401) 274-4400 • www.riag.ri.gov

> Peter F. Neronha Attorney General

Full Name of Applicant:	
Maiden Name / other names used:	
Date of Birth:	
Address of Applicant:	
Purpose:	nip, apostille, name change, weapons permit, or purchase, etc)
	RELEASE INFORMATION
criminal record, including a record of any record of sexual offender registration, accordant Investigation in reference to me.  I hereby waive and release any and all man every kind, nature and description whatsoe and requests therefrom, against the S	(name of entity) any State of Rhode Island y State or local arrest, conviction, warrant, or a essible by the Bureau of Criminal Identification oner of actions, cause of actions, and demands of ever, arising from any release of criminal records State of Rhode Island, Bureau of Criminal records General, and employees of the Department
	Signature of Applicant
Sworn to before me in the city of	State of
this day of	, 20
	Notary Public
	Commission Expires

**Note:** A colored photocopy of a government-issued photo identification with a date of birth must accompany this release

## NO APPLICATIONS WILL BE CONSIDERED UNLESS THE FOLLOWING HAVE BEEN ACCOMPLISHED:

☐ <u>APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AND REGISTRATION</u>
( Page 5 ) Completed in full & legible.
☐ List of every individual owner, shareholder (that owns at least 10% or more), partner, and/or corporate officer and direct.  ( Page 6 ) Completed in full and legible.
☐ Signed and notarized acknowledgments of security guard business license policies, procedures, and State and Federal Statutes.  ( Pages 7, 8, & 9)
■ National background check registration form.  ( Page 10 ) Completed in full & legible.
<ul> <li>Conditional offer of employment form. For the processing of all security personnel once your business is licensed.</li> <li>( Page 11 ) Completed in full, legible, and letterhead consistent with the business name provided on page 5 of the application.</li> </ul>
☐ A physical Rhode Island address, properly zoned for business, OR registered agent.  The RI address provided would be where your license will be mailed. An additional copy may be mailed outside the State of RI for a duplicate license fee of \$100.00.
□ A copy of your certificate of insurance in the minimum amount of three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) for bodily or personal injury and one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) for property damage. A licensee must be insured by a carrier licensed in this state.  Surety Bond is recommended, but NOT required. Please provide a copy if obtained.
Certificate of Authority or letter of good standing.  Can be obtained by the Rhode Island Secretary of State's Office
☐ Pursuant to § 5-5.1-19 Uniform and equipment.  Please submit photographs of any insignia, patch, pattern, or displaying words that may be displayed within the business on things such as equipment, uniforms, or vehicles.
☐ Application fee of \$400.00 in the form of a Check or Money Order  Check should not be combined with any other payments such as the background check fee or duplicate license fee. If an additional copy of the license is needed, please include a separate \$100.00 check for the additional copy.
☐ Completed list of all staff.
☐ Photographs or Images of all badges, shields, and any other devices.

Which shall not indicate or tend to indicate that they represent that of any law enforcement officer of the federal government, a state, or any other political subdivision of the state.

■ EACH INDIVIDUAL OWNER, SHAREHOLDER that owns at least 10% or more, CORPORATE OFFICER, and/or PARTNER has completed the following:
☐ Page 12 – Completed in full, legible, dated, signed, and notarized.
☐ Submit a photocopy of TWO forms of positive identification.  Must be signed, dated, and stamped by a Notary Public, attesting to be true copie i.e. License, State I.D., Passport, and Resident Card.
☐ Fingerprints submitted on an FBI FINGERPRINT FD-258 CARD.  The fingerprint card must include all demographic information, be signed by the applicant, as well as be signed, and dated, by the fingerprinting agency.
■ National background check processing fee of \$45.00 in the form of a Check of Money Order.  Check should not be combined with any other payments such as the licensing fee.
Applications can be dropped off or mailed to:  RI Office of Attorney General
4 Howard Ave. Cranston RI 02920

Questions or concerns can be e-mailed to SecurityLicensing@riag.ri.gov

Before the submission of your application, please make sure that all the required documents have been completed in their entirety. Incomplete applications **CANNOT BE PROCESSED**. Missing information notices will **NOT** be sent out.

ATTN: Security guard licensing

**An approved license** is valid for 2 years, a renewal notice will **NOT** be sent. Be sure you're applying at a minimum of 30 days prior to the business license expiration date.

#### PLEASE NOTE:

The recipient of this license agrees that he/she shall not duplicate or allow to be duplicated the license or any part of it, including, but not limited to, the State Seal or a facsimile thereof contained therein in any matter. The recipient expressly agrees that any violation of this provision is grounds to revoke his or her license.

## Chapter 5.1 Private Security Guard Businesses

http://webserver.rilegislature.gov//Statutes/TITLE5/5-5.1/INDEX.htm

# CHAPTER 5-5.1 Private Security Guard Businesses

#### **Index Of Sections**

- <u>§ 5-5.1-1 Short title.</u>
- § 5-5.1-2 Definitions.
- § 5-5.1-3 Powers and duties of the attorney general.
- § 5-5.1-4 Regulations.
- § 5-5.1-5 Subpoenas, oaths, and contempt.
- § 5-5.1-6 Inspections Audits.
- § 5-5.1-7 License to conduct business Violation.
- § 5-5.1-8 License qualifications.
- § 5-5.1-9 Investigation and action on application.
- § 5-5.1-10 Grounds for denial of application for license or renewal of license.
- § 5-5.1-11 Procedure for approval or denial of application Hearings.
- § 5-5.1-12 Renewal of licenses.
- § 5-5.1-13 Registration and license fees.

- § 5-5.1-14 Non-transferability of license.
- § 5-5.1-15 Grounds for suspension and revocation of licenses.
- § 5-5.1-16 Surrender of license.
- § 5-5.1-17 Change in status of licensee.
- <u>§ 5-5.1-18 Registration.</u>
- § 5-5.1-19 Uniform and equipment.
- § 5-5.1-20 Identification cards.
- § 5-5.1-21 Licensee business procedures.
- § 5-5.1-22 Insurance requirements.
- § 5-5.1-23 Criminal offenses.
- § 5-5.1-24 Judicial review.

§ 5-5.1-1 Short title. – This chapter may be cited as the "Private Security Guard Act".

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-2**

#### § 5-5.1-2 **Definitions.** – (a) As used in this chapter:

- (1) "Applicant" means any person who on his or her own behalf or on behalf of another has applied for permission to engage in any act or activity that is regulated under the provisions of this chapter.
- (2) "Branch office" means any office of a licensee within the state other than its principal place of business within the state.
- (3) "Business" means any corporation, company, association, operation, firm, partnership, institution, trust, or other form of business association, as well as a natural person. One client or customer constitutes a business.
- (4) "Employee" means any natural person employed by the businesses defined in this section. It does not include secretaries and clerical workers.
  - (5) "Attorney General" means the attorney general of the state of Rhode Island.
  - (6) "License" means any license required by this chapter.
- (7) "Licensee" means any person to whom a license is granted in accordance with, the provisions of this chapter.
- (8) "License fee" means any moneys required by law to be paid for the issuance or renewal of any license required by the regulations.
- (9) "Person" means any corporation, company, association, operation, firm, partnership, institution, trust, or other form of business association, as well as a natural person.
  - (10) "Private security guard business" includes:
- (i) A business which furnishes for hire or reward watchmen, guards, bodyguards, private patrolmen, or other persons, to protect persons or real and personal property.
- (ii) A business which furnishes for hire or reward any trained dog or other animal with or without an accompanying handler for the purpose of providing security.
- (11) "Publicly traded corporation" means any corporation or other legal entity, except a natural person, which:

- (i) Has one or more classes of security registered pursuant to § 12 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 781); or
- (ii) Is an issuer subject to § 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 78o(d)).
- (b) Words and terms: tense, number, and gender. In construing the provisions of this chapter except when otherwise plainly declared or clearly apparent from the context:
  - (1) Words in the present tense include the future tense.
  - (2) Words in the masculine include the feminine and neuter genders; and
  - (3) Words in the singular include the plural and the plural includes the singular.

- § 5-5.1-3 Powers and duties of the attorney general. The attorney general or his or her designee shall have general responsibility and authority for the implementation of this chapter, as subsequently provided, including, without limiting the responsibility and authority:
  - (1) To process all applications for any license provided under this chapter.
- (2) To investigate the qualifications of each applicant before any license is issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and to obtain a criminal background check on any applicants from the division of criminal identification within the department of the attorney general.
- (3) To hear and decide all license applications, which includes the power to grant or deny the application and revoke or suspend the license.
- (4) To promulgate any rules and regulations that in his or her judgment are necessary to fulfill the policies of this chapter.
- (5) To investigate violations of this chapter and regulations promulgated under this chapter; and
- (6) To collect all license and registration fees imposed by law and forward the fees immediately to the general treasurer.

#### SECTION 5-5.1-4

§ 5-5.1-4 **Regulations.** – (a) The attorney general is authorized to adopt, amend, or repeal any regulations, consistent with the policy and objectives of this chapter, that he or she deems necessary or desirable for the public interest in carrying out the provisions of this chapter.

(b) The regulations shall be adopted, amended, and repealed in accordance with the provisions of chapter 35 of title 42.

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-5**

- § 5-5.1-5 Subpoenas, oaths, and contempt. (a) The attorney general or his or her designee shall have the power and authority to issue subpoenas and to compel the attendance of witnesses at any place within this state, to administer oaths and to require testimony under oath. The attorney general may serve his or her process or notices in a manner provided for the service of process and notice in civil actions in accordance with the rules of court.
- (b) If a witness refuses to obey a subpoena or to give any evidence relevant to proper inquiry by the attorney general, the attorney general may petition a court of competent jurisdiction within the state to compel the witness to obey the subpoena or to give the evidence. The court shall promptly issue process to the witness and hold a hearing on the petition as soon as possible. If the witness refuses, without reasonable cause or legal grounds, to be examined or to give evidence relevant to proper inquiry by the attorney general, the court may cite the witness for contempt.

#### SECTION 5-5.1-6

- § 5-5.1-6 Inspections Audits. The attorney general or his or her designee shall have authority, with warrant:
- (1) To inspect and examine the principal place of business, each bureau, agency, subagency, office, or branch office for which a license is sought or has been issued.
- (2) To inspect, examine, and audit all books, records, and documents pertaining to the licensee's operation.
- (3) To inspect and examine employees and records at site locations of operations under the controls entered by the agency.

#### SECTION 5-5.1-7

§ 5-5.1-7 License to conduct business – Violation. – No person whether he or she is a resident of the state shall engage in the private security guard business without first obtaining from the attorney general a license to conduct the business, as subsequently provided. No person shall conduct the business under the license of another person nor shall any person lease or sublease a license to another person; provided, that this provision does not apply to any person conducting the business under the license of another person, or who is the lessee or sublessee of

a license of another person as of July 10, 1989. A license entitles the holder to conduct the businesses defined in § 5-5.1-2(a) and (b). Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section is guilty of a felony.

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-8**

- § 5-5.1-8 License qualifications. (a) Every applicant, or in the case of a partnership each partner, or in the case of a corporation, each officer and general, and each shareholder owning a ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the applicant; provided, the applicant is not a publicly traded corporation, shall meet the following qualifications before it may engage in any business licensed under this chapter:
  - (1) Be eighteen (18) years of age.
  - (2) Be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien.
  - (3) Not have been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony.
- (4) Not have had his or her license or registration revoked or application for the license or registration denied by the attorney general or by the appropriate authority of any other jurisdiction.
- (5) Not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease and not having been restored.
  - (6) Not suffer from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence; and
  - (7) Be of good moral character.
- (b) A corporation seeking a license shall be incorporated under the laws of this state or shall be qualified to do business within this state with a valid certificate of authority issued by the secretary of state and an agent for service of process designated as required by law.
- (c) With verification of no criminal background as established in subsection (a) of this section, any person engaged in the private security guard industry, prior to January 1, 1988, and who continues to be engaged as of January 1, 1988, may apply for a security agent license. This initial application will be treated as a renewal of a **license**.

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-9**

§ 5-5.1-9 Investigation and action on application. – After an examination of the application and any further inquiry and investigation that he or she deems proper and necessary as to the good character, competency, and integrity of the applicant and the persons named in the application, the attorney general shall as soon as practicable issue a license in a form prescribed by him or her to the applicant or notify the applicant of a denial of the license application.

- § 5-5.1-10 Grounds for denial of application for license or renewal of license. The attorney general shall deny the application for or renewal of a license if he or she finds that the applicant, or the qualifying agent, or any of the applicant's partners, officers, generals, or shareholders owning a ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the applicant, provided the applicant is not a publicly traded corporation, does any of the following:
- (1) Violates any provisions of this chapter or rules and regulations promulgated under this chapter.
- (2) In the case of the qualifying agent, commits any act which would disqualify the qualifying agent under § 5-5.1-8 and in the case of the applicant, or applicant's partners, officers, generals, or shareholders owning a ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the applicant, provided the licensee is not a publicly traded corporation, has failed to meet the qualifications of § 5-5.1-8.
  - (3) Practices fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.
  - (4) Makes a material misstatement in the application for or renewal of a license; and
- (5) Demonstrates incompetence or untrustworthiness in actions affecting the conduct of the business required to be licensed under the chapter.

- § 5-5.1-11 Procedure for approval or denial of application Hearings. The procedure of the attorney general in approving or denying an application for a license or renewal of the license shall be as follows:
- (1) If the application is approved, the attorney general shall issue a license in the form provided in this chapter.
- (2) If the application is denied, the attorney general shall notify the applicant or licensee, in writing, of the denial and state the reasons for his or her action.
- (3) Within fifteen (15) days from the receipt of notice, the applicant or licensee may request a hearing in writing.
- (4) If a request for a hearing is received in a timely manner, the attorney general shall set a date for a hearing and notify the parties of the time and place of the hearing.
  - (5) All hearings shall be held in accordance with the provisions of chapter 35 of title 42.

§ 5-5.1-12 Renewal of licenses. – Each license shall expire two (2) years after its date of issuance. Subject to the power of the attorney general to deny, revoke, or suspend a license, any license shall be renewable by the attorney general for the next two (2) year period upon proper application for renewal payment of license fees. An application for renewal of a license must be received by the attorney general on a form provided by him or her not less than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the license. He or she shall promptly notify the licensee of his or her intent to refuse to renew the license. The licensee may, in fifteen (15) days after receipt of that notice of intent to refuse to renew a license request a hearing on the refusal in the manner prescribed by § 5-5.1-11. A licensee shall be permitted to continue to engage in business while its renewal application is pending. Upon renewal of any license the attorney general shall issue a renewal license.

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-13**

§ 5-5.1-13 Registration and license fees. – The registration and license fee for a private security guard business shall be four hundred dollars (\$400) biennially.

- § 5-5.1-14 Non-transferability of license. (a) No license issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter shall be assigned or transferred, either by operation of law or otherwise.
- (b) If a licensee dies, becomes disabled, or ceases to engage in the business, the successor, heir, devisee, or personal representative of the licensee shall, within thirty (30) days of the death, disablement, or other termination of operation by the original licensee, comply with all requirements of this chapter regarding application for a license.
- (c) If a sale, assignment, transfer, merger, or consolidation of a business licensed under this chapter is consummated, the purchaser, assignee, transferee, surviving, or new corporation who is not already a licensee shall immediately comply with all requirements of this chapter regarding application for a license. The purchaser, assignee, transferee, surviving, or new corporation is subject to all the requirements of this chapter to the extent the requirements are applicable and may continue the operation of the business until notified by the attorney general of its final decision on the new application for a license.
- (d) With good cause, the attorney general may extend the period for filing the application required by subsections (b) and (c) of this section.

- § 5-5.1-15 Grounds for suspension and revocation of licenses. The attorney general may suspend or revoke any license issued under this chapter in the manner subsequently prescribed if the licensee or any of its partners, officers, generals, and shareholders owning a ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the license, provided the licensee is not a publicly traded corporation, and the qualifying agent does any of the following:
- (1) Violates any provisions of this chapter or rules and regulations promulgated under this chapter.
  - (2) Practices fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.
  - (3) Makes a material misstatement in the application for or renewal of the license.
- (4) In the case of the qualifying agent, commits any act which would disqualify the qualifying agent under § 5-5.1-8 and in the case of the licensee, or any of its partners, officers, generals, and shareholders owning a ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the licensee, provided the licensee is not a publicly traded corporation, fails to meet the qualifications of § 5-5.1-8.
- (5) Demonstrates incompetence or untrustworthiness in actions affecting the conduct of the business required to be licensed under this chapter.
- (6) Prior to suspension or revocation of a license, the attorney general promptly notifies the licensee of his or her intent to issue an order for revocation or suspension, stating the grounds for revocation or suspension. Within fifteen (15) days of receipt of notice of intent to revoke or suspend from the attorney general, the licensee may request a hearing in writing.
- (7) If a request for a hearing is received in a timely manner, the attorney general shall set a date for a hearing and notify the parties of the time and place of the meeting.
  - (8) All hearings are held in accordance with the provisions of chapter 35 of title 42.
- (9) After the licensee has exhausted the right of appeal or, if the licensee does not seek a hearing, the licensee shall immediately cease to operate the business for the time provided in the order of suspension or permanently in the case of revocation and shall notify all its clients of the revocation or suspension and maintain a copy of the notices in its business records.
- (10) Under circumstances in which the attorney general determines that the public health, welfare, or safety may be jeopardized by the termination of a licensee's services, the attorney general may, upon his or her own motion or upon application by the licensee or any party affected by the termination, extend the time for the termination of the licensee's operations, subject to any reasonable, necessary, and proper conditions or restrictions that he or she deems appropriate.

§ 5-5.1-16 Surrender of license. – Each license shall be surrendered to the attorney general within seventy-two (72) hours after it has been revoked or after the licensee ceases to do business pursuant to an order of suspension. If the attorney general or a court of competent jurisdiction has pending before it any matter relating to the renewal, revocation or transfer of a license, the licensee shall not be required to surrender the license until the matter has been adjudicated and all appeals have been exhausted provided that a stay has been obtained in accordance with the provisions of this chapter pertaining to judicial review.

#### SECTION 5-5.1-17

- § 5-5.1-17 Change in status of licensee. The licensee shall notify the attorney general, in writing, within five (5) days of:
- (1) Any change in identity of the licensee, or any of its partners, directors, officers, and shareholders owning a ten percent (10%) or greater interest in the licensee, provided the licensee is not a publicly traded corporation. Any substitute in the persons enumerated must satisfy all requirements of §§ 5-5.1-8 and 5-5.1-13 and be approved, in writing, by the attorney general; and
- (2) Any material changes in the information previously furnished or required to be furnished to the attorney general or any occurrence that could reasonably be expected to affect the licensee's privilege to a license under this chapter.

- § 5-5.1-18 Registration. (a) Except as provided in this chapter, no person shall perform the functions and duties of an employee of a business required to be licensed under this chapter in this state, without first having been registered or licensed. The attorney general shall keep and make available for public inspection a list of all persons who have been registered or licensed and the name of the company employing the person at the time of registration or licensure.
- (b) No holder of any unexpired license issued pursuant to this chapter shall knowingly employ any person who has been convicted of a felony in connection with his or her or its business in any capacity. Should the holder of an unexpired license falsely state or represent that a person is or has been in his or her employ, that false statement or misrepresentation is sufficient cause for the revocation of the license.

- (c) No person shall be employed by any holder of a license until he or she has executed and furnished to the license holder a verified statement, to be known as "employee's registration statement," stating:
  - (1) His or her full name, age, residence address, and place and date of birth.
  - (2) The country of which he or she is a citizen.
- (3) The business or occupation engaged in for the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of the filing of the statement, stating the place or places where the business or occupation was engaged in, and the name or names of any employers.
- (4) That he or she has not been convicted of a felony or of any offense involving moral turpitude; and
- (5) Any further information that the attorney general may by rule require to show the good character, competency, and integrity of the person executing the statement.
- (d) All holders of a license shall be allowed to obtain a criminal background check on any employee or prospective employee from the division of criminal identification for a fee determined by the department of the attorney general.
- (e) If any holder of a license files with the attorney general the "employee's statement" of a person other than the person employed, he or she is guilty of a felony.

- § 5-5.1-19 Uniform and equipment. (a) No individual licensed by, registered by, or subject to the provisions of this chapter shall wear or display any insignia, patch, or pattern which indicates or tends to indicate that he or she is a law enforcement officer of the federal government, a state, or any political subdivision of the state or which contains or includes the word "police" or the equivalent of that word, or is similar in wording to any law enforcement agency in this state. All badges, shields, and any other devices shall not indicate or tend to indicate that it represents that of any law enforcement officer of the federal government, a state, or any other political subdivision of the state. This entire wording must be approved by the attorney general.
- (b) No person while performing any activities of a business licensed by this chapter shall have or utilize any vehicle or equipment displaying the words "police", "law enforcement officer", or the equivalent of these words or have any sign, shield, marking, accessory, or insignia that indicates that the vehicle is a vehicle of a public law enforcement agency. This entire wording must be approved by the attorney general.

§ 5-5.1-20 Identification cards. – The attorney general shall prescribe by regulation the form of identification cards that may be carried by persons licensed under this chapter.

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-21**

- § 5-5.1-21 Licensee business procedures. (a) Any licensee shall, on notice from the attorney general, discontinue any advertising or the use of any advertisement, seal, or card, which in the opinion of the attorney general tends to mislead the public. Failure to comply with this order of the attorney general is cause for revocation of the license.
- (b) No licensee shall, using any letterhead, advertisement, or other printed matter, or in any manner, represent that he or she is an instrumentality or agency of the federal government or of the state or political subdivision of the state.
- (2) No licensee shall conduct a business under a trade name until he or she has obtained the written authorization of the attorney general to do so. The attorney general shall not authorize the use of a trade name which, in his or her opinion, is like that of a public office or agency, or of that used by another licensee that the public may be confused or misled by the trade name, except that this provision does not apply to the continued use of a trade name by a corporation that:
  - (i) Was commercially using that trade name in good faith on December 31, 1987; and
- (ii) Had commercially used that trade name in good faith continuously for a period of more than one year prior to December 31, 1987.
- (3) The authorization shall require, as a condition precedent to the use of the name, the filing of a certificate of doing business under the name with the city or town clerk of the city or town where the licensee's principal place of business is located and with the secretary of state in the manner provided by law.

#### **SECTION 5-5.1-22**

§ 5-5.1-22 Insurance requirements. – A licensee of a private security guard business shall file with the attorney general a certificate of insurance evidencing comprehensive general liability coverage for bodily injury, personal injury, and property damage with endorsements for assault and battery and personal injury, including false arrest, libel, slander, and invasion of privacy, in the minimum amount of three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) for bodily or personal injury and one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) for property damage. A licensee shall also file endorsements for damage to property in their care, custody, and control and for

errors and omissions. The certificate shall provide that the insurance shall not be modified or cancelled unless thirty (30) days prior notice is given to the attorney general. A licensee must be insured by a carrier licensed in this state.

#### SECTION 5-5.1-23

- § 5-5.1-23 Criminal offenses. (a) It is unlawful for any person subject to the provisions of this chapter to knowingly commit any of the following:
- (1) Provide any service required to be licensed under this chapter without possessing a valid license.
- (2) Employ any individual to perform the duties of an unarmed employee or armed employee who has not first complied with all provisions of this chapter and the regulation in all respects.
  - (3) Falsely represent that a person is the holder of a valid license; or
  - (4) Possess a license or identification card issued to another person.
  - (b) The violation of any of the provisions of this section is a felony.

- § 5-5.1-24 Judicial review. (a) Any person aggrieved by a final decision or order of the attorney general made after a hearing or rehearing, whether a petition for a hearing was filed, may obtain judicial review of the decision by appeal to the superior court in accordance with chapter 35 of title 42.
- (b) Filing of an appeal shall not stay enforcement of the decision or order of the attorney general unless the stay is obtained from the court upon application in accordance with the rules of court or from the attorney general upon any terms and conditions that he or she deems proper.