Know Your Rights: Rhode Island Elections

The right to vote is one of the most important rights we have as American citizens and as Rhode Islanders. If you are a citizen and are at least 18 years of age, you have the right to vote in elections in your community. Every vote counts in our democracy, and the Office of the Attorney General and the RI Department of State are committed to protecting your right to vote.

We have created this guide to better explain your rights as a voter and share important resources prior to Election Day.

You have the right to vote without any pressure or intimidation.

It is illegal under Rhode Island law to use any means to intimidate voters either inside or outside of early voting locations, polling places, or near ballot drop boxes. Intimidating behavior can include words or actions. It is also illegal for anyone to block or attempt to block, by any means, voters from the entrance to an early voting location, polling place or ballot drop box. If you witness what you believe to be election-related crimes or unlawful conduct, please fill out the Attorney General's online <u>complaint form</u>, email the Attorney General at <u>voting@riag.ri.gov</u>, email the RI Department of State's Elections Division at <u>elections@sos.ri.gov</u>, or contact your local police department immediately.



You have the right to vote by mail for any reason.

All voters can vote by mail. No reason is required. If you are mailing in your mail ballot application, you should send your mail ballot application at least seven days before the deadline to ensure that it is received on time. You can also turn in your application in person at your city or town hall until the deadline or apply online.

You should then mail your voted mail ballot at least seven days before Primary or Election Day to ensure that your mail ballot arrives by 8 PM on Primary or Election Day. Alternatively, you can drop off your mail ballot at the Board of Elections or find a 24-hour elections drop box location at <u>vote.ri.gov</u>. Drop box receptacles will also be available at all polling places on Election Day. You can also track the status of your mail ballot using the <u>Department of State's website</u>.

You have the right to fix your mail ballot or mail ballot application if it is rejected.

If your mail ballot or mail ballot application is rejected, you will receive a letter from your local board of canvassers or the Board of Elections that tells you how to fix the mail ballot or mail ballot application. If for any reason you have not sent your corrected mail ballot to the Board of Elections at least seven days before Primary or Election Day, you should submit your mail ballot in a secure 24-hour elections ballot drop box to ensure your ballot is received and counted by the Board of Elections.

You have the right to vote in-person before Election Day.

In the 20 days leading up to Primary or Election Day, you can vote in person at a location designated by your city or town during their regular business hours, for any reason. Early voting is very similar to voting at a polling place and may be a good option if you are unable to vote at your usual polling place on Primary or Election Day or if you have run out of time to request a mail ballot. No reason is required to vote early.



You have the right to bring one of many different photo IDs to identify yourself at your voting location.

Rhode Island law requires that voters provide identification when voting early or at their polling place on Election Day. You can bring any one of the following documents with a photo so long as they are not more than 6 months expired: (1) Rhode Island driver's license/permit, (2) Rhode Island voter ID card, (3) U.S. Passport, (4) ID card issued by any federally recognized tribal government, (5) ID card issued by a U.S. educational institution, (6) U.S. military ID card, (7) ID card issued by the U.S. government or State of Rhode Island (RIPTA bus pass, etc.), (8) government issued medical card. The Department of State will provide voters with a Voter ID if they do not already possess a valid photo ID for voting.

You have the right to request a provisional ballot if you are a registered voter and your name is not on the voter list at your designated polling place, or if you don't have your acceptable photo ID.

If you are a registered voter, you have the right to vote at the polls on Primary or Election Day, even if your name cannot be found on the voter list when you arrive at your designated polling place. You can request a provisional ballot that will be counted once your local board of canvassers confirms your eligibility. You may also vote a provisional ballot if you do not have an acceptable form of photo identification.

You have the right to vote regardless of your gender identity.

Gender identity should never exclude anyone from voting. For information about voting as a trans person, visit the Department of State's <u>website</u>.



You have the right to vote as soon as you are released from prison and you may also vote while you have been charged with a crime, are awaiting trial, sentencing, or incarceration.

For those Rhode Islanders who were unable to vote while imprisoned for a felony conviction, Rhode Island law restores your right to vote as soon as you leave prison. If you are sentenced to home confinement, probation, or parole, you are eligible to vote as are those Rhode Islanders that have been charged with a crime and are awaiting trial, sentencing, or incarceration.

You have the right to bring someone with you to vote.

You can bring someone to your voting location to help you vote if you require assistance. This person will be able to go into the voting booth with you to help you vote.

Useful links

Voter Information Center Protect voting rights Register to vote Track your mail ballot Election incident form

