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SUBJECT: Rhode Island’s Permitting Requirements for Retired Law
Enforcement Officers

In 2004, Congress passed the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (“LEOSA”) “to exempt qualified
current and former law enforcement officers from State laws prohibiting the carrying of concealed
[firearms].” Pub. L. No. 108-277, 118 Stat. 865 (2004) (codified at 18 U.S.C. § 926C).

The Rhode Island Attorney General issues this brief guidance to ensure that all retired law
enforcement officers in Rhode Island understand that the Attorney General does not require
permits for retired law enforcement officers who are qualified to carry concealed firearms under
LEOSA. Thus, anyone who is qualified to carry under LEOSA and has the identification required
by LEOSA will not be prosecuted for carrying concealed firearms, as defined by LEOSA, 18 U.S.C.
§ 926C(e)(1), without a Rhode Island permit under R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-47-8.

LEOSA and its applicable requirements are set forth below for reference.

Please note that this document is intended for informational purposes only and does not
constitute legal advice.



Federal Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (“LEOSA”)
18 USC § 926C

The Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (“LEOSA”) was signed into law on July 22, 2004, and
provides that “Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of any State or any political
subdivision thereof, an individual who is a qualified retired law enforcement officer and who is
carrying the identification required by subsection (d) may carry a concealed firearm that has
been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce.”

“Qualified retired law enforcement officers,” within the meaning of LEOSA, refers to individuals
who:

1. Left law enforcement in good standing;
Before leaving law enforcement, were legally authorized to prevent, detect, investigate,
prosecute, or incarcerate individuals for violating the law;

3. Served in law enforcement for at least 10 years OR left due to a service-connected
disability after any applicable probationary period;

4. Within the past 12 months, were qualified by their former agency or the State of Rhode

Island in firearms training;

5. Are not disqualified by mental illness as declared by a medical professional at their
former agency OR as acknowledged in an agreement with their former agency;

6. Are not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory
substance; and

7. Are not prohibited by federal law from receiving a firearm.

Pursuant to LEOSA, if carrying concealed firearms, qualified individuals must also carry the
following identification document(s):

EITHER

1. A photo ID issued by their former agency identifying the holder as a retired law
enforcement officer AND indicating that the holder qualified in firearms training within

the past 12 months

OR

2. A photo ID issued by their former agency identifying the holder as a retired law
enforcement officer AND certification from the State of Rhode Island that the holder
qualified in firearms training within the past 12 months.



