State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations



OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 4 Howard Avenue Cranston, RI 02920 (401) 274-4400 - TDD (401) 453-0410

Peter F. Neronha, Attorney General

HEALTH CLUB REGISTRATION

A non-refundable registration fee of one hundred dollars (\$100.00) must be submitted with this registration form. The registration is valid for one year from the date of registration approval and may be annually renewed by filing the registration form and paying a renewal fee of fifty dollars (\$50.00).

1(A).	Name of Health Club:
1(B).	Trade Name (s) (if different from 1(A):
1(C).	List the complete street address or addresses of all health club locations in the State of Rhode Island*:
1(D).	How long has the health club operated at the location(s) listed in 1(C)?

*Any change in a physical location within Rhode Island must be made in writing to the Department of Attorney General within ten (10) days of the change.

	:		 	
Parent Comp	pany Name and	Address (if	any):	
State the squ Question 1(uare footage for C):	each Heal	h Club locati	on identified
-	-	each Heal	h Club locati	on identified
Question 1(C):			on identified
Question 1(-			on identified

**Principals who leave a health club will remain subject to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws §5-50-1, et seq. until such time that notice of non-association is given to the Department of Attorney General. Any replacement principal shall file with the Department of Attorney General a notice which shall be made in the form of an updated registration application.

_	
	Submit a copy of all contracts for health club services by attaching the his registration form.
(Provide complete disclosure of any pending or completed litigation or complaint filed with any governmental authority against the health clul any of its officers or directors within the last three (3) years.
•	
•	
•	
•	
•	
	Submit proof of bonding as required by R.I. Gen. Laws §5-50-3 by attaching it to this registration form. This requirement shall not app any owner or operator in continuous operation in the same location five (5) years prior to January 1, 1998.
	If not applicable, please indicate so.
	Submit the appropriate certification or documentation from the munic
	submit the appropriate certification of documentation from the mume
	(or municipalities) where the health club operates that the facility has
	(or municipalities) where the health club operates that the facility has a been cited as being in violation of compliance with applicable zoning
	(or municipalities) where the health club operates that the facility has a been cited as being in violation of compliance with applicable zoning planning regulations, fire regulations and building codes. This
	(or municipalities) where the health club operates that the facility has been cited as being in violation of compliance with applicable zoning planning regulations, fire regulations and building codes. This certification/documentation must be dated within sixty (60) days of the control of t

11.		s, identif		ns of any health club in which any of the last), may have been associated in the last			
			 				
Name	;		 •				
						•	
Signa	ture						
Date			 •				

Whenever prior to expiration of an annual registration, there is a material change in the registration information, you shall, within ten (10) days, file an addendum updating the information. The Department may refuse to grant or renew a registration or may suspend or revoke the registration of any health club which engages in any conduct prohibited by Chapter 50, Title 5 or does not comply with the statutory requirements set forth in Rhode Island General Laws §§5-50-3 and 5-50-7.

TO THE YEAR OF THE PARTY OF THE

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

150 South Main Street • Providence, RI 02903 (401) 274-4400 - TDD (401) 453-0410

Peter F. Neronha, Attorney General

AUTOMATED EXTERNAL DEFIBRILLATOR HEALTH CLUB CERTIFICATION FORM

The Rhode Island General Law entitled "Health Clubs" has recently been amended to include the following section:

- § 5-50-12 Defibrillators. (a) Every health club registered with the department of attorney general pursuant to this chapter shall have at least one automated external defibrillator (AED) on the premises. The AED will at all times be deployed in a manner in which best provides accessibility to staff, members and guests. At least one employee per shift must be properly trained by the American Heart Association or comparable state recognized agency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and AED, and must be on duty during hours of operation.
 - (b) Any facility that has a health club on premises that currently complies with all parts within this act shall be exempted from duplication.
 - (c) A cause of action against a health club or its employees, in connection with the use or nonuse of an AED, shall not exist except in cases where the health club has failed to purchase an AED as required under this act and in cases of willful or wanton negligence.
 - (d) A knowing or willful violation of this section by a health club may result in suspension or revocation of its registration.
 - (e) Any health club which operates a facility on a key pass basis with no attending employees at anytime is exempt from the trained employee on duty requirement set forth in subsection (a) herein of this section.

This act shall take effect on January 1, 2005

Print Name	Signature	D	Date
·	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	·	
I further understand that health club registration.	a violation of this mandate ma	y result in the susper	nsion or revocation of my
	ssibility to the staff and guests, be properly trained in accordance		
I hereby certify that there	is at least one (q) working AED		e health club, es be deployed in a manner
Department of Attorney (General of the aforementioned leg	gislative change.	
	, acknowledge that I am t	and have be	en duly notifies by the